The Singapore Medical Journal (SMJ) is the monthly publication of Singapore Medical Association (SMA). The Journal aims to advance medical practice and clinical research by publishing high-quality articles that add to the clinical knowledge of physicians in Singapore and worldwide.

SMJ is a general medical journal that focuses on all aspects of human health. The Journal publishes commissioned reviews, commentaries and editorials, original research, a small number of outstanding case reports, continuing medical education articles (ECG Series, Clinics in Diagnostic Imaging, Pictorial Essays, Practice Integration & Life-long Learning [PILL] Series), and short communications in the form of letters to the editor.

SMJ follows the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors’ Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals (

ISSN: 0037-5675
DOI: 10.11622/smedj

2019 Journal Impact Factor: 1.359
Five-year Impact Factor: 1.442

Indexed in: MEDLINE, PubMed, Scopus, WPRIM, Web of Science, EBSCOhost
Member of: APAME, SAMJE, MASEAN GOJ, CrossRef



Editor-in-Chief: A/Prof Poh Kian Keong

Deputy Editors: Prof Ang Tiing Leong, A/Prof Mahesh Choolani 

Advisors: Prof Wilfred CG Peh, Prof Teo Eng Kiong

Specialty Editors:

Dr Chan Yiong Huak
Dr Joshua PY Loh
Prof Tan Puay Hoon
Dr Chia Pow-Li
Dr Pua Uei
A/Prof Tan Su-Ming
Prof Roger Foo
Dr Pwee Keng Ho
A/Prof Tan Tong Khee
Dr How Choon How
Prof Quak Seng Hock
Dr Darren Tay Keng Jin
Prof Hsu Pon Poh
Dr Ramani NV
A/Prof Samuel Tay Sam Wah
Dr Devendra Kanagalingam
Adj A/Prof Sim Kang
A/Prof Cuthbert Eng-Swee Teo
Dr William KF Kong
Adj A/Prof Sitoh Yih Yian
Dr Shawn Vasoo
Dr Dave Lee Yee Han
Dr Benedict Tan Chi Loong
Dr Wang Yu Tien
Dr Katy Leung Ying Ying
Prof Kelvin Tan Kok Hian
Prof Wong Wai Keong
A/Prof Kevin Lim Boon Leong
Adj Asst Prof Tan Li Hoon

Editor, Social Media: Dr Ng Chew Lip

International Corresponding Editors

Prof Jafri Malin Abdullah (Malaysia)
A/Prof Judy Wei-Ming Hung (USA)
Prof Jose Florencio Lapena Jr (Philippines)
Prof Ng Kwan-Hoong (Malaysia)
Prof Tan Siang Yong (USA)


President, SMA: Dr Tan Yia Swam
Honorary General Secretary, SMA: Dr Ng Chew Lip


Dr Gwee Ah Leng (1960-1971)
Dr Tan Kheng Khoo (1971-1975)
Prof Lim Pin (1975-1978)
Prof Feng Pao Hsii (1978-1987)
Prof Chee Yam Cheng (1988-1995)
Prof Tan Choon Kim (1995-1996)
Prof Kua Ee Heok (1996-1999)
Prof C Rajasoorya (2000-2003)
Prof WIlfred CG Peh (2004-2009)
Prof Teo Eng Kiong (2010-2013)


The Editorial Office can be contacted at:

The Editor
Singapore Medical Journal
Singapore Medical Association
2985 Jalan Bukit Merah
#02-2C, SMF Building
Singapore 159457
Tel: (65) 6223 1264
Fax: (65) 6252 9693

For Subscription and Advertising enquiries:

Li Li Loy/Allan Kuek
Tel: (65) 6223 1264

Disclaimer: The statements and opinions expressed in the SMJ reflect the views of the authors, and do not necessarily represent those of the SMJ editorial board or the Singapore Medical Association (SMA), unless this is clearly specified. SMA does not, and cannot, accept responsibility for the veracity, accuracy or completeness of any statement, opinion or advice contained in the text or advertisements published in the SMJ. Advertisements of products and services that appear in the SMJ do not imply endorsement for the products and services by SMA.

All articles published in the Singapore Medical Journal (SMJ) are protected by copyright. No material in this journal may be reproduced on any platform including electronic or in print, or transmitted by any means, in whole or in part, without the prior written permission of the Editor of the SMJ.
Written permission must also be obtained before any part of the SMJ is stored in any retrieval system of any nature.